The Mouillepied Historical Society

In Saint-Lambert the word Mouillepied has a familiar ring to it. Not only does it identify our Society, it is also part of the name of a popular day care center. But where does this name—which translates to feet-wetter—originate from? Well, one has to go back to 1686, to the Régime français, when a part of the La Prairie de la Magdeleine Seigneury was referred to as the coast of the Mouillepied. Most probably this piece of land, which in the Saint-Lambert of our days stretches from Victoria Avenue to the boundary with Brossard, received its toponym due to the presence of a very clayish soil. Since clay does not absorb water readily, the Chemin du roi in this part along the river was often inundated, especially in the springtime, and hence wetted many feet.

 

In December of 1974, a group of volunteers created the Cultural and Historical Society of Saint-Lambert. Emphasis was placed on the fine arts, represented by the Galerie du Centre, and on the history of Saint-Lambert, for which the Mouillepied Historical Committee was established and lodged in the Desaulniers House on the corner of Notre Dame and Webster. Its first president was Steve Parker.

At the beginning of 1980, the committee became autonomous under the name of Mouillepied Historical Society. It started publishing its first reviews pertaining to the local past and organized exhibitions and conferences. A book, illustrated by old photographs, commemorated the 125th anniversary of our community in 1982
Twenty five years later, in 2007, the Society, this time celebrating 150 years of our city, published a much appreciated book, Saint Lambert Through the Years. For the same occasion a historical walking circuit, with a starting point in Place du Village, was established.

 

Since its foundation 40 years ago, the Society has been constantly enlarging its collection of historical documents, research papers, photographs, media articles, books and artifacts. It continues its mission to make the history of our community known to a wider audience and shares through expositions and printed matter the latest findings of historical research. It also keeps an ever watchful eye on the preservation of our built heritage.

In order to go forward, the Society asks interested parties to share photographs—even images of the 1960s and 1970s are now history. Long time residents might want to give testimony of some hitherto unknown family stories, or donate newspaper clippings and small artifacts. When renovating an old house, one can obtain important information as to its original appearance from the Mouillepied Society, thus connecting the past of Saint-Lambert with future générations.

 

We would like to thank the deputy of Laporte, madame Nicole Ménard, and the City of Saint-Lambert, for their financial support, helping to make this web site possible.

La Société d’histoire Mouillepied

À Saint-Lambert, nous sommes familiers avec l’appellation  de « Mouillepied », celui qu’a adopté notre société d’histoire. Un centre de la petite enfance empruntait aussi ce nom par la suite. Mais d’où vient ce mot? En fait, dès le régime français, il désignait cette partie de la seigneurie de La Prairie de la Magdeleine, la côte du Mouillepied, qui s’étendait sur le territoire actuel de Saint-Lambert compris entre l’avenue Victoria et la limite avec la ville de Brossard. On présume que le toponyme a été donné à ce lieu-dit, dès 1686, soit par la présence d’un sol argileux, soit par le phénomène récurrent des inondations printanières qui rendait difficile la circulation sur le « chemin du roi », le long du fleuve.

 

En décembre 1974, un groupe de bénévoles créait la Société culturelle et historique de Saint-Lambert. Y étaient notamment représentés alors les beaux-arts (la Galerie du Centre) et l’histoire (Comité d’histoire Mouillepied). Son premier président fut monsieur Steve Parker. L’organisme logeait à la maison Desaulniers, à l’angle de l’avenue Notre-Dame et de la rue Webster.

Au début des années 1980, le comité d’histoire prend son autonomie et devient la Société d’histoire Mouillepied. On publie des cahiers, on monte des expositions et on organise des conférences. En 1982, Saint-Lambert fête ses 125 ans. Est alors publié un livre illustré de photographies anciennes.

En 2007, soit 25 ans plus tard, c’est le 150e anniversaire de la ville qui est souligné. Un circuit d’histoire et de patrimoine est installé à la Place du Village et le livre Saint-Lambert au fil des ans 1857-2007 , publié pour l’occasion, connaît un réel succès.

 

Au fil de ses 40 ans d’existence, la Société a enrichi ses collections de documents d’archives, de photographies, d’artéfacts, de journaux, de livres. Elle poursuit ses objectifs de collectionner  et de mettre en valeur, par des expositions et des publications, tout ce qui peut toucher à l’histoire lambertoise, tout en demeurant vigilante afin que le riche patrimoine bâti de la ville soit préservé.

Tous ce travail serait impossible sans la contribution des citoyens passés ou actuels de notre ville. Pour nous permettre de continuer à la sauvegarde de notre histoire, nous faisons appel à votre générosité à partager ce que vous pourriez avoir dans votre grenier!

Les administrateurs de la Société d’histoire sont Gilles Delarosbil, président, Huguette Chartrand Copti, vice-présidente, Ginette Octeau, secrétaire, Yves Guillet, trésorier, ainsi que Thérèse Corbeil, Denise Hallmich et Janet Sader.

La Société d’histoire Mouillepied remercie madame Nicole Ménard, députée de Laporte, ainsi que la Ville de Saint-Lambert, pour leur contribution à la réalisation de ce site internet.